Coverart for item
The Resource Discovering the Maltese falcon and Sam Spade : the evolution of Dashiell Hammett's masterpiece, including John Huston's movie with Humphrey Bogart, edited by Richard Layman

Discovering the Maltese falcon and Sam Spade : the evolution of Dashiell Hammett's masterpiece, including John Huston's movie with Humphrey Bogart, edited by Richard Layman

Label
Discovering the Maltese falcon and Sam Spade : the evolution of Dashiell Hammett's masterpiece, including John Huston's movie with Humphrey Bogart
Title
Discovering the Maltese falcon and Sam Spade
Title remainder
the evolution of Dashiell Hammett's masterpiece, including John Huston's movie with Humphrey Bogart
Statement of responsibility
edited by Richard Layman
Contributor
Editor
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"Dashiell Hammett's novel The Maltese Falcon is often named as one of the best twentieth-century novels. John Huston's film adaptation is one of the earliest examples of film noir. It made Humphrey Bogart a star, and was selected by the American Film Institute as one of the 100 greatest movies of all time. Now, Discovering The Maltese Falcon and Sam Spade uncovers from institutional and private archives a wealth of treasures about Hammett's masterpiece, his detective Sam Spade, the three film versions of the novel, stage adaptations, Sam Spade short stories, radio presentations, and even comics. Many of the discoveries here are previously unpublished. The book provides hundreds of rare documents and original source materials, including production notes for the three movie versions. Contributors include Dashiell Hammett himself, plus Jo Hammett, Richard Layman, Mary Astor, Joseph Shaw, Dorothy Parker, John Huston, Hal Wallis, Darryl F. Zanuck, Joe Gores, William F. Nolan, and more than fifty additional writers. It is illustrated with more than 200 photos, illustrations, and facsimiles. The book is a joy for fans of Hammett, Sam Spade, detective fiction, film noir, and the history of literature and cinema." --
Member of
Assigning source
Publisher's website
Cataloging source
CZA
Dewey number
813/.52
Illustrations
illustrations
Index
index present
LC call number
PS3515.A4347
LC item number
Z59 2005
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorDate
1947-
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
Layman, Richard
Series statement
The Ace performer collection
Series volume
volume 2
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Hammett, Dashiell
  • Hammett, Dashiell
  • Hammett, Dashiell
  • Hammett, Dashiell
  • Spade, Sam (Fictitious character)
  • Detective and mystery stories, American
  • Detective and mystery films
  • Detective and mystery stories, American
  • Spade, Sam (Fictitious character)
Label
Discovering the Maltese falcon and Sam Spade : the evolution of Dashiell Hammett's masterpiece, including John Huston's movie with Humphrey Bogart, edited by Richard Layman
Instantiates
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 343-346) and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Hammett's detective days -- The pulps and the making of the novel -- Magazine and book publication -- Critical views of The Maltese falcon -- Movies, stage, and radio: Hammett's novel in popular culture
Dimensions
26 cm.
Edition
Revised edition.
Extent
xiv, 359 pages
Isbn
9780972589864
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
illustrations
System control number
  • 2779752
  • (OCoLC)62249320
  • (OCoLC)ocm62249320
  • 951824
  • 2779752
Label
Discovering the Maltese falcon and Sam Spade : the evolution of Dashiell Hammett's masterpiece, including John Huston's movie with Humphrey Bogart, edited by Richard Layman
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 343-346) and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Hammett's detective days -- The pulps and the making of the novel -- Magazine and book publication -- Critical views of The Maltese falcon -- Movies, stage, and radio: Hammett's novel in popular culture
Dimensions
26 cm.
Edition
Revised edition.
Extent
xiv, 359 pages
Isbn
9780972589864
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
illustrations
System control number
  • 2779752
  • (OCoLC)62249320
  • (OCoLC)ocm62249320
  • 951824
  • 2779752

Library Locations

    • Tigard Public LibraryBorrow it
      13500 SW Hall Blvd, Tigard, OR, 97223-8111, US
      45.422610 -122.765328
Processing Feedback ...